Minutes from Curriculum Committee Meeting Athens State University Sept. 13, 2017

Meeting was called to order at 12:30 p.m. by acting chair, Wayne McCain.

Present:

V. Miller	J. Lundin	W. McCain	J. Wolfe
J. Dorning	L. Bergantz	M. Haghighi	J. Bracewell
B. Shaw	C. Woodruff	G. Crow	
D. Newland	D. Ferguson	C. Lovelace	

Nominations for Committee Chair and Recording Secretary

1. Nominations for Committee Chair:

Wayne McCain Derek Newland

Based upon a secret ballot vote by the committee, Derek Newland was elected Chair of the ASU Curriculum Committee.

2. Nominations for Recording Secretary

Cyndi Lovelace (sole nominee)

It was questioned whether or not a first-year faculty member could serve on a faculty senate standing committee, and in particular whether or not that faculty member could serve in an officer role. The faculty constitution will be reviewed before the next committee meeting. Dr. Lovelace is serving as a permanent proxy member on the committee, and represented Dr. Tom Pieplow at today's meeting. Dr. Lovelace is considered elected to the Recording Secretary position until this issue is resolved.

Items of Business

 A Curriculum Review Request was submitted by Vanessa Miller of the College of Arts and Sciences. They request that the course in Abnormal Psychology be listed as a pre-requisite for Clinical Psychology, beginning in the 2018 – 2019 academic year. This course provides the foundational material needed for full comprehension of the material presented in the Clinical Psychology course.

Motion to approve this request: Wayne McCain

Seconded: Derek Newland

The motion passed without dissent.

Closing

No other items of business were introduced. It was moved and seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The meeting adjourned at 12:55. The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, Sept. 27th, at 12:30 p.m.