Athens State University Faculty Senate Minutes

Charge: (As stated in Athens State University's 2009 *Employee Handbook*, Section 7.2, Faculty Constitution and by-Laws, Article XI: The Faculty Senate).

At a regular meeting of the Athens State University Faculty Senate, held in Waters' Conference Room, on Monday, September 9, 2013, at 12:00, Mark Durm, Presiding Officer, called the meeting to order.

Members Present: Bell, Branscombe, Busick, Durm, Haghighi, Harris, Heatherly, Hughes, Hyde, Shaw, Vaughn, White (Quorum 13/13).

Member Ex Officio from Library: Wolfe

Members Absent: n/a

With the addition to the previous minutes that the Task Force on Shared Governance Document must be approved by a 2/3 majority of full faculty, the record shows them approved as stated. Motion carried (Heatherly/Haghighi).

Committee Reports:

AA: Chair and recorder will be Jess Brown.

CC: Chair will be Chris Otto, and recorder will be Bebe Shaw.

EC: Chair will be Kim LaFevor, and recorder will be Emily Corzine.

PC: n/a

FA: Chair will be Pat Kuby, and recorder will be Susan Owen.

LR: Chair will be Cathy Woodruff, and recorder will be Kimberly Jack.

SC: n/a

New chairs were introduced to senate, and Responsibilities and Empowerment of Committees (Objective 5, bullets 2 and 3) documents were distributed for senate consideration.

Old Business: Task Force on Shared Governance Document was discussed. Durm presented senate with the following statement of Shared Responsibility approved by President Glenn:

"Selection of Executive Leadership is an important shared responsibility. When the University is seeking new leadership for a Dean's position, the president will appoint an appropriate committee. The faculty representation on the committee will be chosen from a list of faculty members elected by each respective college. Normally the President will select faculty to serve from each college, with the majority of faculty being from the college where the vacancy exists."

Harris moved to accept Shared Responsibility statement with the removal of the clause "Normally the President will select faculty to serve from each college." Motion carried (Harris/Heatherly).

Harris amended her motion to accept to include that the Task Force on Shared Governance Document be sent back to the President for his approval and then on to the full faculty for a required 2/3 majority vote to approve as stated in the constitution. Motion carried (Harris/Heatherly).

Busick moved that senate ask EC to handle the vote on the Task Force on Shared Governance Document (TFSGD). Motion carried (Busick/White).

A full faculty for information only meeting will therefore be held on Friday, September 20, 11:00, CB 104 to discuss TFSGD, the vote upon which, conducted by EC, will open on the following Tuesday, September 24.

Senate discussed the status of the Morale Survey (Objective 4, bullet 4) to be conducted by Senator White. Senate suggested we try to locate both the survey and the data from the morale survey conducted by the Chronicle of Higher Education several years ago with which to compare data collected.

Promotions Committee elections and appointments are forthcoming.

New Business: Postponed until next Monday, September 16, noon, Waters Conference Room.

There being no additional comments or discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 1:20.

Respectfully submitted, Bebe Gish Shaw, Secretary