## Athens State University Faculty Senate Minutes

Charge: (As stated in Athens State University's 2000 *Faculty Handbook*, Section 4.2, Article XI).

At a regular meeting of the Athens State University Faculty Senate, held in the Chapel of founders Hall, on Wednesday, September 23, 2009, at 12:00, Dr. Sean Busick, Presiding Officer, called the meeting to order.

Members Present: Amanda Branscombe, Kathy Buck, Sean Busick, Prentice Chandler, Kevin Dupre, Mike Essary, Bonnie Heatherly, Kim LaFevor, Bebe Shaw, Gary Valcana, Debbie Vaughn, George Williams. (Quorum).

Members Absent: n/a

With no corrections/additions to the minutes from the previous meeting, the record shows them approved as stated. Motion carried (Branscombe/Buck).

The committees then submitted the following reports:

Academic Affairs: A meeting has been called for next week.

Curriculum Committee: Minutes on Bb.

Sabbatical: No change in status.

Faculty Affairs: Branscombe has been elected chair. Branscombe announced that the Faculty Handbook may be divided back into a faculty one and a staff one, the two having been recently combined into one Employee Handbook. She also noted that promotion procedures outlined in the handbook are now in effect and that we should be hearing from Tina Hicks regarding these procedures soon. Among changes are an October 1 deadline to apply to one's dean, who will have appointed a peer promotion committee of full professors; there will then be an October 31 deadline to turn in portfolios to peer committee electronically; one will have to have taught here at ASU 7 years to be eligible to apply for promotion to associate professor, etc.

Learning Resources: Mary Harris has been elected chair. There has been discussion of dividing LR into Academic Computing (IT) and Learning Resources (Library). Shaw will send March 2009 minutes of LR charge to senate for review and then it must go before full faculty convocation for approval and addition to the handbook.

Election committee: LaFevor is convenor. Hasn't met.

Old Business: Shaw noted that CC has 12 members, theoretically 4 per college, but that Barbara Burks is a non-voting member representing the Library, though counted as a

member of A&S. Either Burks needs to be made a voting member or a 13<sup>th</sup> member needs to be appointed for A&S to have equal representation on the CC.

New Business: P.O. Busick welcomed new senators then suggested "brainstorming" sessions for the academic year as a process by which the senate addresses issues. Ideas for discussion include the following:

1) increasing on-campus enrollment

2) distance education

3) criteria for promotion/ faculty and student research

4) address from Jess Brown re. 20/20 Committee

5) address from students Brianna Lovell, Chair, Interclub Council, and Heath Daws, SGA President re. student issues and concerns

6) address from President Glenn re. The State of ASU

There being no additional comments or discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 12:55. Motion carried (LaFevor/Essary).

Respectfully submitted, Bebe Gish Shaw, Secretary