Athens State University Faculty Senate Minutes

Charge: (As stated in Athens State University's 2009 *Employee Handbook*, Section 7.2, Faculty Constitution and By-Laws, Article XI: The Faculty Senate).

At a regular meeting of the Athens State University Faculty Senate, held in the Chapel of Founders Hall, on Wednesday, March 24, 2010, at 12:00, Dr. Sean Busick, Presiding Officer, called the meeting to order.

Members Present: Amanda Branscombe, Kathy Buck, Sean Busick, Prentice Chandler, Kevin Dupre, Mike Essary, Bonnie Heatherly, Kim LaFevor, Bebe Shaw, Gary Valcana, Debbie Vaughn, George Williams (12/12 Quorum).

Members Absent: n/a.

With no corrections/additions to the minutes from the previous meeting, the record shows them approved as written. Motion carried (Buck/LaFevor).

The committees then submitted the following reports:

Academic Affairs: 2010/2011 calendar has been posted today.

Curriculum Committee: Minutes on Bb.

Sabbatical: n/a.

Learning Resources: Minutes on Bb.

Faculty Affairs: FA will meet 3-31-10 to articulate a statement regarding the new tenure policy. Busick thanked FA.

Election Committee: EC met 3-4-10 and discussed P.O. election options. Option 1 – Follow the predetermined process. Option 2 – Extend the nomination timeframe by reopening the nomination process. After discussion, the EC members voted unanimously in favor of Option 1. Members present: Brasher, Vinson, Kuby, Smith, Hemingway, LaFevor (presiding). Members absent: Cort, Douglass, Leslie. Results were announced by LaFevor with Mike Essary elected unopposed as P.O. Branscomb questioned procedure, asking if names were torn off votes, as faculty had to sign the top page of the ballots. LaFevor said she and Smith counted the votes and that one separated ballot from signature and one tallied. LaFevor noted that she would like to see EC clarify, for example, what a blank vote meant. What of write-ins? Dissent? LaFevor reiterated "majority of votes cast" was in the by-laws. Senators noted that no members of the College of Arts and Sciences were present at the 3-4-10 meeting. Questions were also raised regarding how much time must elapse between calling and holding a committee meeting, and whether such meeting was a "regular" meeting versus a "special" meeting. Discussion was also held that where equal representation is desired, perhaps proxies

should be sent. Dupre observed that the following (from the 2-24-10 minutes) had been disregarded: "Discussion of the technology breakdown at ASU and its impact on the Presiding Officer election process resulted in a motion by Dupre that EC re-open nominations and extend the deadline due to the extenuating circumstances with electronic communication difficulties. Motion carried with unanimous support of the Faculty Senate (Dupre/Shaw)." Valcana stated that he doesn't want to see committees micromanaged. Busick observed that in Robert's Rules of Order that standing committees are appointed, whereas the senate is elected, and that the procedure followed is therefore problematic. Dupre motioned for the senate to ask FA to consider the following specific issues in the by-laws: 1) quorum 2) representation by all colleges 3) proxies 4) standing committees reporting to senate. Motion carried unanimously (Dupre/Buck). After further discussion, a motion was made (Williams/Branscomb) affirming support for our traditional procedures and handbook regulations in that standing committees should report to the senate *before* reporting to the full faculty. Motion carried with 7 for (Branscomb, Buck, Busick, Chandler, Dupre, Heatherly, Williams); 2 against (Essary and LaFevor); 2 abstaining (Vaughn and Valcana); and Shaw had to leave at 1:00 for class and was not present for the vote.

Old Business: n/a.

New Business: n/a.

There being no additional comments or discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 1:20. Motion carried (Williams/Branscomb).

Respectfully submitted, Bebe Gish Shaw, Secretary