Athens State University Faculty Senate Minutes

Charge: (As stated in Athens State University's 2009 *Employee Handbook*, Section 7.2, Faculty Constitution and By-Laws, Article XI: The Faculty Senate).

At a regular meeting of the Athens State University Faculty Senate, held in the Chapel of Founders Hall, on Wednesday, February 24, 2010, at 12:00, Dr. Sean Busick, Presiding Officer, called the meeting to order.

Members Present: Amanda Branscombe, Kathy Buck, Sean Busick, Kevin Dupre, Mike Essary, Bonnie Heatherly, Kim LaFevor, Bebe Shaw, Gary Valcana, Debbie Vaughn, George Williams (11/12 Quorum).

Members Absent: Prentice Chandler

With no corrections/additions to the minutes from the previous meeting, the record shows them approved as written. Motion carried (Dupre/Williams).

The committees then submitted the following reports:

Academic Affairs: 2010/2011 calendar has been approved by the faculty.

Curriculum Committee: Minutes on Bb.

Sabbatical: No change in status; however, Dr. Glenn has made attaining sabbatical privileges a priority for ASU. There is concern that community colleges might also demand sabbatical privileges, so ASU must carefully word requests indicating our unique baccalaureate degree conferring status.

Learning Resources: n/a.

Faculty Affairs: The new tenure policy was discussed with its potential 5 or 7 year cycle as opposed to the current 3. Those already tenured would be "grandfathered in." Branscombe related that there is a movement away from tenure in K-12 and the community college system, but Dr. Glenn is already working toward removing ASU from inclusion in that trend.

Election Committee: Discussion of the technology breakdown at ASU and its impact on the Presiding Officer election process resulted in a motion by Dupre that EC re-open nominations and extend the deadline due to the extenuating circumstances with electronic communication difficulties. Motion carried with unanimous support of the Faculty Senate (Dupre/Shaw).

Old Business: n/a.

New Business: Discussion continued regarding P.O. election process and Branscombe moved to call the question after the Faculty Senate agreed again unanimously that they were in full support of EC should they choose to re-open nominations. Motion carried (Branscombe/Heatherly).

There being no additional comments or discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 1:00. Motion carried (Essary/Dupre).

Respectfully submitted, Bebe Gish Shaw, Secretary