## MINUTES OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF ATHENS STATE UNIVERSITY July 29, 2021

The Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of Athens State University (the "University") held a meeting at 3:00 pm on Thursday, July 29, 2021, in the Sandridge Student Center Ballroom, Athens, Alabama.

#### PRESIDING: MR. MACKE MAULDIN

The Board of Trustees Executive Committee meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Mr. Macke Mauldin.

On roll call, the following members of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of the University answered present:

Mr. Macke Mauldin (Chair) Mr. Dus Rogers Ms. Missy Ming Smith

#### Ronnie Chronister and Cathy Dickens were absent.

The members present and in person constituted a quorum to conduct business.

Dr. Philip Way, Mr. Shane Black (University Legal Counsel) and Ms. Jackie Gooch (recording) were also present along with various members of University faculty, staff and administration.

#### **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

On a motion made by Mrs. Missy Ming Smith and seconded by Mr. Dus Rogers, the Executive Committee approved the agenda.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

#### 2021-2023 Board Committee Structure (Attachment A)

On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mrs. Smith, the Executive Committee approved the 2021-2023 Board Committee Structure. Chairman Mauldin will be making specific appointments to the stated positions from recommendations from the Faculty Senate, the Staff Senate, and the Dean of each college. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (3-0) of members present.

#### 2021-2023 Executive Committee Appointment (Attachment B)

On a motion made by Mrs. Smith and seconded by Mr. Rogers, the Executive Committee approved the 2021-2023 Executive Committee appointment. This action will be ratified at the next meeting of the full Board. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (3-0) of members present.

# Statement on Inclusion and Civility Reaffirmation (Attachment C)

On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mrs. Smith, the Executive Committee reaffirmed the University's Statement on Inclusion and Civility with no changes. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (3-0) of members present.

#### 2021 Board Self-Evaluation Results (Attachment D)

On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mrs. Smith, the Executive Committee accepted the 2021 Board Self-Evaluation Results as presented. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (3-0) of members present.

#### **Required Reports - Free Speech Rights (Attachment E)**

On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mrs. Smith, the Executive Committee authorized the Board Chair to prepare and submit reports, required by §§16-68-1, et. seq. of the Code of Alabama (Free Speech Rights for Students, Faculty and Staff) on behalf of the Board of Trustees. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (3-0) of members present.

## **Board of Trustees Nominating Committee – Board Representative (Attachment F)**

On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mrs. Smith, the Executive Committee approved the appointment of Missy Ming Smith to the Board of Trustees nominating committee. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (3-0) of members present.

## New Academic Program – B.S. Aerospace Systems Management (COB) (Attachment G)

Dr. Wehlburg provided an overview of the proposed program and highlighted significant elements and features of the program. On a motion made by Mrs. Smith and seconded by Mr. Rogers, the Executive Committee approved the Bachelor of Science in Aerospace Systems Management for the College of Business as presented. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (3-0) of members present.

## New Academic Program - M.S. Computer Science (COAS) (Attachment H)

Dr. Wehlburg provided an overview of the proposed program and highlighted significant elements and features of the program. On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mrs. Smith, the Executive Committee approved the Master of Science in Computer Science for the College of Arts and Sciences. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (3-0) of members present.

## New Academic Program - M.S. Cybersecurity (COAS/COB) (Attachment I)

Dr. Wehlburg provided an overview of the proposed program and highlighted significant elements and features of the program. On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mrs. Smith, the Executive Committee approved the Master of Science in Cybersecurity for the College of Arts and Sciences/College of Business as presented. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (3-0) of members present.

## AY 2021-2022 Budget (Attachment J)

Mr. McCoy provided an overview of the proposed AY 2021-2022 budget. Mr. McCoy reviewed the comparison of the four different fund groups. The proposed budget includes a 2% COLA for all permanent full-time and part-time University employees.

At the request of Chairman Mauldin, Mr. McCoy provide an overview/timeline of the budget process. Mr. McCoy also provided background on the expending the HERFF funds received by the University.

On a motion made by Mrs. Smith and seconded by Mr. Rogers, the Executive Committee approved the AY 2021-2022 budget (with the 2% COLA for all permanent full-time and part-time University employees) as presented. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (3-0) of members present. Chairman Mauldin commended Mr. McCoy and team for the work on the budget.

Chairman Mauldin invited comments from Dr. Way. Dr. Way asserted that he is surrounded by good employees and good work is being done at the University. The University just received its largest grant to-date: FIPSE Grant for \$2.8 million. This grant will allow eligible Pell Grant students to receive a laptop at no charge. This grant will also help purchase furniture and provide faculty incentives. Dr. Way thanked Rachel O'Sullivan for her work on this grant.

Mrs. Smith thanked everyone for flexibility and willingness to learn how to do things differently. Thanked all for their endurance and patience with the University's future progress.

On a motion by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. Smith the meeting adjourned at 4:05 pm.

Respectfully submitted: Jackie Gooch