ATHENS STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES BOARD MEETING JANUARY 23, 2015

The Athens State University Board of Trustees (also referred herein as the Board) held a meeting at 1:00 p.m. on Friday, January 23, 2015 in the Founders Hall Chapel to consider University matters.

PRESIDING: MR. MACKE MAULDIN

The Board of Trustees meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. by Mr. Macke Mauldin.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no individuals registered to speak to the Board.

ROLL CALL

On roll call, the following Board members were present and constituted a quorum to conduct business:

Ms. Cathy Dickens

Dr. Mark Heinrich

Mr. Garth Lovvorn

Mr. Macke Mauldin

Senator Arthur Orr

Mr. Clint Shelton

Mr. Tazewell Shepard

Mary Scott Hunter joined the meeting at 1:05 pm.

Also present were Dr. Robert Glenn, President of Athens State University and Ms. Jackie Gooch, Secretary to the Board, and Mr. Shane Black, University Legal Counsel. Governor Robert Bentley, Ms. Maxine Randolph, and Dr. Sandra Sims-deGraffenried were absent.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Mr. Shepard, the Board approved the agenda by affirmative votes (7-0) of members present.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

On a motion made by Mr. Lovvorn and seconded by Ms. Dickens, the Board approved the minutes of the October 17, 2014 Board meeting by the affirmative votes (7-0) of members present.

OLD BUSINESS, PENDING MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Mr. Mauldin reported that the following Board Committees met today.

Enrollment and Students Services – chaired by Macke Mauldin in absence of Dr. Sims-deGraffenried Academic Affairs – chaired by Dr. Heinrich Finance and Facilities – chaired by Ms. Dickens

NEW BUSINESS, PENDING MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

2015 Board of Trustees Meeting Time Change (Attachment A)

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Mr. Lovvorn, the Board approved the recommendation that the Board meeting time for 2015 be changed to 1:00 p.m. This motion was approved by affirmative votes (8-0) of members present.

Board of Visitors Nomination/Appointment Process (Attachment B)

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Mr. Shepard, the Board appointed/reappointed the following individuals to serve on the Board of Visitors.

College of Arts and Sciences College of Business

Trish Black (3 years)

Jeff Bass (3 years)

This motion was approved by affirmative votes (8-0) of members present.

Options (Attachment C)

B.S., Biology: Ecology and Organismal Specialization B.S., Biology: Cellular and Developmental Biology

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Ms. Dickens, the Board approved the B.S., Biology: Ecology and Organismal Specialization and the B.S., Biology: Cellular and Developmental Biology options. This motion was approved by affirmative votes (8-0) of members present.

OTHER BUSINESS

Area updates were presented to the Board of Trustees by the following individuals:

Dr. Robert Burkhardt/Dr. Ron Ingle, Interim Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs

Mr. Mike McCoy, Vice President for Financial Affairs

Mr. Rick Mould, Vice President for University Advancement

Ms. Sarah McAbee – Vice President for Enrollment and Student Services

Ms. Belinda Krigel - Chief Information Officer

Mr. Damon Lares – Presiding Officer, Staff Senate

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Dr. Glenn reviewed updates and announcements with the Board.

REPORT AND CLOSING COMMENTS OF BOARD MEMBERS

Mr. Mauldin reported that he and Dr. Glenn visited with and awarded a degree in December to Courtney King. Ms. King was a terminally-ill Athens State student who completed and received her degree one week before her death.

Mr. Mauldin reported that he attended a scholarship luncheon where two Athens State students were awarded a scholarship.

Brief reports on Board Committee meetings were provided by Mr. Mauldin, Ms. Dickens and Dr. Heinrich.

ADJOURNMENT

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Mr. Lovvorn, Mr. Mauldin adjourned the Athens State University Board of Trustees meeting at 2:22 p.m.