# ATHENS STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES BOARD MEETING JANUARY 15, 2021

The Athens State University Board of Trustees (also referred herein as the Board) held a meeting at 2:30 p.m. on Friday, January 15, 2021 in the Founders Hall Chapel to consider University matters.

### PRESIDING: MR. MACKE MAULDIN

The Board of Trustees meeting was called to order at 2:39 p.m. by Mr. Macke Mauldin.

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

No one officially registered for public comment.

### **ROLL CALL**

On roll call, the following Board members were present and constituted a quorum to conduct business:

Mr. Jim America

Ms. Crystal Brown

Mr. Ronnie Chronister

Ms. Cathy Dickens (electronically)

Mr. Bill Dunnavant

Mr. Macke Mauldin

Senator Arthur Orr

Dr. Sandra Sims-deGraffenried (electronically)

Ms. Missy Ming-Smith

Also present were Dr. Philip Way, President of Athens State University and Mr. Shane Black, University Legal Counsel, and Ms. Jackie Gooch, Secretary to the Board. Governor Kay Ivey and Chancellor Jimmy Baker were absent.

#### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Ms. Dickens, the Board approved the agenda by affirmative votes (9-0) of members present.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Mr. Chronister, the Board approved the minutes of the October 16, 2020 by affirmative votes (9-0) of members present.

# **OLD BUSINESS, PENDING MOTIONS AND RESOLUTION**

None.

### NEW BUSINESS, PENDING MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Review and Affirmation of University Mission Statement (Attachment A)

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Mr. America, the Board affirmed the University mission statement with no revisions. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (9-0) of members present.

## **2020** Board of Trustees Self-Evaluation Results Acceptance (Attachment B)

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Ms. Brown, the Board accepted the 2020 Board of Trustees Evaluation results. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes of (9-0) of members present.

## **Board of Visitors Nomination/Appointment (Attachment C)**

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Mr. Chronister, the Board appointed the following individuals to serve on the Board of Visitors for a three-year term; College of Arts and Sciences: Russell Johnson, College of Business: Christie Blaylock and College of Education: Dee Dee Jones, Patrick Patterson, and Yvette Evans. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (9-0) of members present.

## **Horizon 2030 Strategic Plan Goals (Attachment D)**

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Ms. Brown, the Board approved the Horizon 2030 Strategic Plan Goals as presented. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (9-0) of members present.

## Adoption of Resolution No. 1-01-15-2021 – Bond Refinance (Attachment E)

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Mr. America, the Board approved the adoption of Resolution No. 1-01-15-2021 which approved the re-funding of all debt through private financing from a local financial institution at a significantly lower interest rate that will produce substantial savings on interest. This motion was approved by the affirmative votes (9-0) of members present.

### **OTHER BUSINESS**

## **Athens State University Family Relationship Disclosure**

Provided to the Board of Trustees.

# **Reaffirmation and Accreditation Update**

The Board received a SACSCOC Accreditation update.

# **Quarterly Financial Update**

The Board received the quarterly financial update.

### PRESIDENT'S REPORT

No additional report.

#### REPORT AND CLOSING COMMENTS OF BOARD MEMBERS

Board Committee Updates and Report Acceptance (No reports. Committees did not meet)

Enrollment and Student Services – chaired by Mr. Mauldin

Academic Affairs – chaired by Ms. Brown

Finance and Facilities – chaired by Mr. Chronister

Development – chaired by Ms. Dickens

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

On a motion made by Senator Orr and seconded by Mr. America, Mr. Mauldin adjourned the Athens State University Board of Trustees meeting at 2:59 pm.